Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Time Online
    9 d 19 h 8 m

Why aren't you a member of a trade union?

I was always a trade union member and at one time I worked for one. I know that trade union members tend to get higher wages and better work conditions than non-union members. So find it difficult to understand why some are hostile or reluctant to join one. Not seeking convert people here but I am genuinely interested in why people don't join them.

Time Online
    109 d 8 h 48 m
    I was a union member when I worked in the public sector many years ago, and that was largely because it was the 'done thing' - the vast majority of my colleagues were also in the same union, and one joined almost by default when taking up employment. The fact that practically everyone was a union member also meant that there was real power there because a strike could be called and my employer's business would effectively grind to a halt as a result.

I suspect your assertion that union members get better pay and conditions is largely based on membership of large and powerful unions such as RMT, who can still use the threat of disruption of services as a bargaining tool. Obviously this isn't the only way that unions work, but it's certainly the most visible.

Now I work in IT in the private sector, and in general my colleagues are not union members (or if they are, they don't talk about it) - so it simply doesn't form part of my work culture any more, even though I know there's nothing to stop me from joining a union. Also I work for a highly reputable and progressive employer, and personally speaking I think employment law is such that it provides me ample protection without my having to rely on a third party organisation to represent me.
    --------------------
    Lurk and let lurk
    --------------------

Time Online
    113 d 5 h 14 m
    I have no trade union applicable to me certainly in the sense of collective bargaining etc.

Time Online
    7 d 15 h 54 m